top of page

Honoring the Healer | Victory Jones


What is your name & location?

Victory Jones, NYC

How do you heal yourself? What is your favorite form of self-therapy?

Yoga, tea, laughter, meditation, music, travel, self care practices: reading, baths, etc. But yoga and meditation, are definitely my fave form of self therapy.

When/what was the catalyst that made you start?

I actually took a yoga class as an elective in college, but then didn’t really start practicing regularly, until 5 years ago when yoga found me again! I went to a hot yoga class on a whim with a friend… thought i was gonna die! Didn’t, lol, and fell in LOVE!

How has this form of healing helped you?

YOGA is the journey of the self to the self, thru the self! It is as honest as you can be about your existence, and is an internal ongoing conversation that we have with ourselves when we decide to practice…. On and OFF the mat! It has transformed my life tremendously, from better mental clarity, deeper spiritual awareness, better physical health and also in the way I view life and treat others. It has made me realize that everything is connected and that we all play a part in this collective consciousness. Also that we are still very much a part of nature, no matter how much we try to fight it. It has made me to let life flow through me, rather than happen TO me! It even helped my relationships, my writing, and my overall perspective. They say “how you do one thing, is how you do all things”. And Yoga (UNION) has become the dominant force in my life. So I now LIVE that way.

What does your process look like? (Please share what you feel comfortable sharing)

My process for healing is not really regulated. I do what i feel intuitively. Usually though it requires quiet time… whether I am practicing, cooking, bathing, during a moment of “healing” I usually go quiet, to reconnect, assess, process and also to let go, and not cling to (the idea of ) anything.

How does it make you feel when you are healing yourself?

Soothed… and then usually invigorated afterward. But calm and zen.

Why is what you do so important/why is this form of self-helping important to you?

It’s important for my sanity and overall well being. We live in a world that is very unnatural and far removed from our natural tendencies which is jarring and can take its toll on us. Mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually. Being a modern creature is hard! More so mentally than anything else. We don’t face the same survival issue our ancestors did, but we have a whole other set of issues and problems that can consume us easily, if we let them. Esp when culture forces us to be a certain way to fit in. It disconnects and discombobulates is in so many ways making it easy to lose touch with ourselves and each other. My healing, takes me back to the source and dissolves all this… or at least ameliorates the effects of it all, somewhat. I restores some type of balance... This is why it’s important.

What is your inspiration to continue doing what you are doing? What is the fuel that keeps you going?

LIFE and everything in it! I am generally excited about life and all the possibilities. I have an insatiable curiosity and love for life that keep me going, always.

What is your definition of healing? (What does it look like, feel like, sound like, etc.)

Depends on the person. ONe person’s healing might not look or feel like another’s.

What are your visions &/or goals?

So many! Really though, to be happy, make amazing things, have an incredible, full life experience while I am here on this planet, love as hard as I can and connect with people. Oh and legacy: i wanna leave a legacy, even if in the form of another person, an idea or something that outlives me and creates lasting positive change. So yeah, #goals! LOL

Tell us a fun fact about your form of healing, what it is that you do, or something people may not know.

Ummm, ok. I am a bit of a weirdo and a kid who never really grew up all the way, so there are a FEW things that people may find interesting. I sometimes practice yoga to trap music sometimes with my dog Jax! He’s a super cute pomeranian and apparently about that life, LOL!

In one sentence, what is your message to the world?

LOVE YOURSELF, WORK HARD, HAVE FUN, TELL THE TRUTH, TAKE NO SHIT!

Is there is anything else that you would like to share about yourself or your form of self-healing?

Well, I think to date, one of the coolest things I did, that was part of a healing process was shave my head! It was a sort of ultimate purging and catharsis that made me feel totally FREE in a way I have never felt before. Also got to cross that off my bucket list as well.

You can connect with Victory at

The Colored Girl www.thecoloredgirl.com

Instagram: @srvj


bottom of page