top of page

Honoring the Healer: Heal Thyself | Julia Johnson


What is your name & location?

My name is Julia and I’m located in New Orleans, Louisiana.

How do you heal yourself? What is your favorite form of self-therapy?

I’ve noticed that anything that has an introspective nature is very healing for me. Things like journaling, reading self-development books and yoga. My favorite form of self-therapy is yoga - specifically hot yoga. Hot yoga has resonated with me so much because it allows me to cultivate self-discipline and love. All aspects of myself are addressed: my mind, body and spirit.

When/what was the catalyst that made you start?

My friend saw me talking about taking a Yoga class on twitter and she invited me to go to a class with her. I felt great after but I wasn’t consistent.I was in college and didn’t have enough consistent funds to go to yoga, but the practice always stuck with me. I practiced to youtube videos and watched other experienced yogis on instagram to keep me motivated.

How has this form of healing helped you?

Since I’ve developed a consistent yoga practice I’ve been able to become much more aware and in control of negative thought patterns. I’ve been able to develop a stronger belief in myself that I can actually do anything that I want. I’ve been able to loosen stagnant energy and accomplish things that practicing yoga and developing mental discipline bring.

What does your process look like? (Please share what you feel comfortable sharing)

My process for healing as far as practicing in the studio and when I am at home are very different. When I take classes at a studio I find that I’m much more disciplined. I don’t usually go to class with a goal or an intention, I kind of just let my practice teach me what I’m meant to learn that day. There have been classes were I had tears coming down my eyes and didn’t know why, and there have been classes that where I felt angry and prior to coming to the class didn’t know that I was angry. This goes back to why Yoga is my favorite form of healing, I’m still learning how much emotions I store in my body and that I frequently need to release them. My personal practice is also important to because it is just me, myself and I. My personal practice is especially important to me because it’s really quality alone time with myself. I can gently process how I’m feeling at the moment which is key in my pursuit to have a healthy mind.

How does it make you feel when you are healing yourself?

I feel in control. I feel like I am my own doctor, able to give myself the proper medicine that works for ME. Oftentimes I forget how much power I have over myself, my thoughts, my habits and practicing yoga is a constant reminder of what I’m capable of.

Why is what you do so important/why is this form of self-helping important to you?

Teaching yoga is important to me because I feel useful. I get excited at researching and perfecting my craft as a teacher because I know that what I know and share will help other people.

What is your inspiration to continue doing what you are doing? What is the fuel that keeps you going?

My inspiration is almost always women. The two women that inspire me are my mom for always caring about her health and treating other people kindly no matter what. My second inspiration is my yoga teacher, Ajax (Magnolia Yoga Studio, New Orleans). I admire her for staying true to her vision of community, her passion and how much of a people person she is. I am grateful to learn from a teacher who is so passionate and great at what she does. Both of these women are also very compassionate and it inspires me. I think that is the most admirable trait for any human to have but especially for people in the wellness industry.

What are your visions &/or goals?

I am still learning more about my role as a teacher and human being so my goals are how I want to aspire to make others feel..

I envision being the kind of teacher who brings out the very best in other people. I aspire to be a woman who helps other women develop courage. Most importantly I desire to compassionately help others grow.

Tell us a fun fact about your form of healing, what it is that you do, or something people may not know.

I’m a yoga teacher who also ran track in college and I could not touch my toes so for the people who think they have to be flexible - you don’t!

In one sentence, what is your message to the world?

Always strive for fulfilment of your own potential. Grow!

My instagram is: InJuliasWorld and I am also on twitter @InJuliasWorld.


bottom of page