top of page

Honoring the Healer | Shionta Pumphrey


What is your name & location?

My name is Shionta Pumphrey and I currently reside in Sandy Springs, Georgia.

I am originally from Chesapeake Beach, Maryland (where is that?!...south of Washington, DC and Baltimore) and known as the "little Nevada" resort area of southern Maryland.

How do you help people heal?

We explore our life force together...our BREATH. Sometimes with our eyes open and sometimes with them closed. I start sharing my truth about the ugliest moments, transitioning times, and overwhelming joyful memories. Facilitating in the comfort of my home yoga studio, in quiet community spaces, private hospital rooms, and in wellness establishments creates an opportunity for people to feel safe in order to open their heart and mind. Many times people want to heal others but have no idea of the importance of a SAFE space in CREATING an OPENING of those two vital spaces through which change and healing can enter.

What type of benefits does your method of healing provide?

Once an opening is created after facilitating "I am... "I feel... "I want to grow... "I want to practice... journaling exercise I do with EVERYONE, it helps them become aware of their truth, what they want to evoke. Most of the time it is emotional and traumatic healing that is blocking the ability to physically move forward to their calling off the mat.

When did you realize that you wanted to heal people/why did you start?

Truthfully I don't remember a moment of realization or reason. I have always felt called to integrate what I was given since birth right from my ancestors, elders, divine contemporaries and discovery of my true self to heal a nation.

How does your personal healing journey reflect in how you hold space for others?

Being patient is huge! To the point that I've had people invest time with me and there is complete silence, rest, and no words. I'm reminded when this happens that patience is one of the most important qualities to bring into my personal healing journey and mindfulness practice (whether guiding or just being). The type of patience we need especially during a time of failure, uncertainty, fear, depression, or not measuring up to expectations.

Why is what you do so important?

Creates the best opportunities for people to expand through breath, movement, stillness, writing all parts of their story to grow knowledge of all things that facilitate peace, harmony, surrender, confidence, forgiveness of self and others and most importantly LOVE!

What is your inspiration to continue doing what you are doing? What is the fuel that keeps you going?

LOVE & LOVE! My king, my family, my true friends and supporting communities.

How does it make you feel when you are helping people heal?

From their last breath of life, ugly face tears, outburst of frustration, smiles, giggles and crying laughing I am reminded of surrender, the simple profound wisdom of yielding to the flow of life....The NOW. I am always humble in the moment but proud of every teaching and experience that I've grown through in order to offer healing, a balance of ease and effort.

What are your visions &/or goals?

To work for Shionta Pumphrey, manage Shades of Health, LLC full time, and make space for my dreams to happen for me.

Tell us a fun fact about what it is that you do or something people may not know about you.

FUN FACTS: I love Mickey mouse and own 2 piece PJ sets (thinking of buying a onesie soon). I also enjoy going to dollar movie theaters to watch old movies, my last film was the original Peter Pan.

In one sentence, what is your message to the world?

Interrupting our destructive habits and awakening our heart and mind is the work of a lifetime.

Is there is anything else that you would like to share about yourself or what it is that you do?

For 10 years I have worked in Healthcare as an adult Hematology-Oncology Nurse with emphasis in Blood & Marrow Transplant, Medical Oncology, Sickle Cell Anemia and rare genetic blood disorders. The work has been very rewarding but I know there are greater dreams that I am being called to do. Shades of Health, LLC promotes diversity in yoga teachers and helps communities expand their knowledge and truth of the practice. Through investments we have been able to award scholarships to aspiring yoga teachers and donate funds to a society that is near and dear to my heart, The National MPS Society to support families and children with rare genetic conditions. My 6 year niece Saniyah L. Pumphrey has Morquio Syndrome IVA. Find out more information and how you can help at https://mpssociety.org/

Give Thanks for this opportunity to dig deep and share....Peace and Blessings Jaz! Love you!

Shades Of Health, LLC


bottom of page